Reverence

The hearthrug is still warm when I venture across the dark room and make myself comfortable by the fireplace.
Warm, not by from the heat of the fire but because you were sitting on it for so long.

I watched you watch the people,
Eyes moving with every movement,
A picture of nonchalance,
While I struggled to utter a single word.

By the time I had managed to form a coherent thought,
And string it into a sentence, you had left,
Leaving several broken hearts in your wake.

Oh how they giggled and marvelled at your beauty,
Basking in the light of your presence,
Too scared to actually touch you,
But close enough that the thought must have crossed their minds.

And how they sigh and console each other now at your absence,
Their voices dripping with honey and reverence.

All I can do is wait for your return,
Assuming you do return,
I imagine you have better things to do.
Maybe then I could finally give you the offerings I have carried with me for days and some hours.

When it’s evident that you have disappeared for good,
I carefully take the package out of my pocket,
And thinking twice, place it in a corner of the room where you’re sure to find it –
A toy rat filled with catnip, wrapped in twine.


Hello! All I can say about this is that it started off as a description of a snobbish person and then turned into what is is now.

I think I’ve done justice to a cat human relationship since it’s from personal experience. Hehehehe.

Featured Image by Hean Prinsloo

Leave a comment