Winter (Napowrimo’19 Day 25)

Winter look over my shoulder,
Breathing their cold breath over my neck.
I look from the corner of my eye and catch them staring icy daggers at me.

Fine. I put my hands up,
I give in.
I scratch out, Summer
And start again,

                        Winter

I raise my eyesbrows at them until they draw a chair and sit beside me.

Tell me then,
What do you want me to write?
I don’t know you that well.

They pat my hand with one of theirs,
All anger melted from their eyes and say,
You know me.
Deep in your heart you know me as well as anybody else does, maybe…
Here they stop and with a dazzling smile on their face,
Maybe even better than anybody.

A warm blush rises up my face.
I take their hand and place it on my cheek,
Do I?
I whisper.
They smile, then pull me into a hug.

I gasp and feel goosebumps all over my skin.
I realise that I’ve closed my eyes.
When I open them all I see is white.

Winter, all around me.
Listen, they tug on my hand.
They push my hair behind my ears and my eyes flutter close –
A snow bunting calling for his mate,
The crackle of the fireplace,
Padded feet on wooden floors,
Water rushing somewhere.

Aided by Winter, I start walking towards the sound of the fire,
My boots disappearing and reappearing in the snow,
Crunch, crunch, crunch.

Soon, I can smell wood smoke,
Pine cones and willow trees
A woollen jumper,
Hot chocolate.

Hot chocolate.
I open my eyes, and in front of me stands a tiny dryad of a girl,
Wearing matching red hat, scarf and mittens.
She holds out a cup of hot chocolate to me along with a piece of peppermint.
As soon as I accept her offerings,
And straighten her crooked hat,
She skips back inside the house with the fireplace.

She forgot that I don’t really like peppermint, I tell Winter.
They laugh quietly,
Straightening my crooked hat.
I take a sip from the cup;
Exactly the way I remember it.
Suddenly, a snowflake gently settles on my chocolate before vanishing.
I turn my face up and catch one on my tongue,
Giggling at the sensation.

When I look down again,
I’m back in my room,
A poem at my disposal and
Winter sitting beside me with a smug smile on their face.

What? I ask, putting some finishing touches around my work.
See, they grin.
You do know me after all. 
I suppose I do, I smile,
Placing a tiny kiss on their freezing button nose. 


Hey!

Day 25

Prompt – write a poem about a season incorporating all the senses.

I got a bit carried away, lol.

Featured Image by Aaron Burden

Leave a comment